The Ruamāhanga River system, from the Waiōhine confluence upstream, has a total catchment area of 1560km². The catchment is made up of sub-catchments consisting of the Ruamāhanga above Mount Bruce, and the Waipoua and Waingawa rivers which flow from the eastern side of Tararua Range, and the Kopuaranga, Whangaehu and Taueru rivers which are sourced from the eastern Wairarapa hills.

The catchment has a history of flooding. Flooding can be dangerous and cause damage to private property and community assets. 

Processes for managing flooding and erosion – through our river schemes – have been in place in the catchment for some time. Our new proposed plan takes a long term view of the whole catchment.

In 2012 the development of the Te Kāuru Upper Ruamāhanga Floodplain Management Plan began. The work is led by the Te Kāuru Upper Ruamāhanga Subcommittee, which was appointed in 2014.

We’ve gathered and reviewed information, and drafted some proposals. In July 2018, we asked for your feedback. We want to know if the Floodplain Management Plan (FMP) is heading in the right direction.

Updated June 6, 2023 at 2:33 PM

Get in touch