Whaitua committees are groups of local people tasked with recommending ways to maintain and improve the quality of our fresh water. Whaitua is the Māori word for space or catchment. 

What does a whaitua committee do?

Whaitua committees are responsible for developing a Whaitua Implementation Programme (WIP) together with their communities. A WIP describes community aspirations for freshwater and helps set a platform for collective effort to improve the health of waterways. The WIP is implemented through new regulations and actions on the ground.

Committees are made up of local community members, iwi representatives, local authority representatives, and Greater Wellington representatives. 

There are five whaitua areas in our region:

WIPs have been completed for Ruamāhanga, Te-Awarua-o-Porirua, and Te-Whanganui-a-Tara. The Whaitua Kāpiti committee was established in late 2022. A Wairarapa Coast whaitua process will follow.

Whaitua Committees achieve a community vision for water by combining mātauranga Māori, citizen science, community knowledge, and expert information to fulfil the requirements of the Essential Freshwater package

Map showing the five whaitua: Kāpiti, Ruamāhanga, Te Awarua-o-Porirua, Te Whanganui-a-Tara, and Wairarapa Coast
Updated June 8, 2023 at 1:17 PM

Get in touch