Electoral systems

Local authority elections are held on the second Saturday in October every three years. The last election was held on Saturday 8 October 2022. The next election will be held on Saturday 11 October 2025.

Greater Wellington Regional Council currently runs its elections using the ‘Single Transferable Vote’ system (STV). Voters rank candidates in order of preference. STV is considered a proportional representation electoral system. This system is also used in some city/district council elections.

The other option permitted under the Local Electoral Act 2001 is the ‘First Past the Post’ (FPP) system. FPP is a "winner takes all" electoral system, where the candidate with the most votes wins. This form of voting is used in parliamentary elections to elect Members of Parliament to electorate seats, as well as in most local authority elections.

Changing the electoral system

Under the Local Electoral Act 2001 the Council can resolve to change the electoral system; or conduct a binding poll on the question; or electors can demand a binding poll.

A poll can be initiated by at least 5% of electors signing a petition demanding that a poll be held.

Once changed, an electoral system must be used for at least the next two triennial general elections, i.e. we cannot change our electoral system for one election and then change back for the next election.

Updated January 19, 2023 at 11:05 AM

Get in touch