Wellington Regional Navigation Safety Bylaws 2021

These Bylaws are made for the purpose of ensuring Maritime Safety under part 33m of the Maritime Transport Act 1994.

They apply throughout the waters of the region from the Otaki River Mouth, around to Cape Palliser and then up to the Mataikona River and extend to the coastal waters up to three miles offshore. This includes both Wellington and Porirua Harbours and Lakes Wairarapa and Onoke, but does not cover the region's rivers.

These Bylaws came into force in July 2021.

Parks, Forests and Reserves Bylaw 2016

The Parks, Forests and Reserves Bylaws, which apply to forest, parks and recreation areas, provide for the safe use of the recreational parks and forests in the Wellington region. They facilitate Greater Wellington’s administration and control of these areas, and our parks management plans and policies.

These bylaws are made under the requirements of the Local Government Act 2002, and came into effect on 1 May 2009.  

Updated December 16, 2021 at 4:11 PM

Get in touch