Greater Wellington Regional Council elects chair and deputy for its new three year term

  • Published Date 26 Oct 2016

A chair and deputy chair were elected and sworn in today at the first meeting of the newly elected Greater Wellington Regional Council, the term of which will run from October 2016-October 2019.

Councillor Chris Laidlaw was elected unopposed as chair and Councillor Barbara Donaldson was elected deputy chair, also unopposed.

"I'm looking forward to working with the new council to continue our progress on making this region an even more fulfilling place in which to live and work," said Councillor Laidlaw.

"Our focus over the next three years will be on working to build on the positive relationships we've developed across the region, bedding in the environmental benefits of the natural resources plan, completing our transformational work in public transport and sorting out priorities in economic and infrastructure development.

"All of these are crucially dependent on the quality of our relationships with our partners. It's vital that we speak with a single voice on the matters that affect us all."

The Greater Wellington Regional Council is made up of 13 regional councillors, representing the following constituencies:


Adrienne Staples (newly elected)

Kapiti coast

Penny Gaylor (newly elected)

Upper Hutt

Paul Swain (returned)

Lower Hutt

Ken Laban (returned)

 Prue Lamason (returned)

David Ogden (newly elected)


Barbara Donaldson (returned)

Jenny Brash (returned)


Chris Laidlaw (returned)

Sue Kedgley (returned)

Daran Ponter (returned)

Roger Blakeley (newly elected)

Ian McKinnon (newly elected) 

The new council will receive formal briefings from council officers over coming days. The meeting will be resumed on 16 November at which time committee chairs will be elected.

For more comment: GWRC media phone on 021 914-266 or




Updated April 28, 2022 at 4:11 PM

Get in touch

0800 496 734