Skip to content

Whaitua te Whanganui-a-Tara

Whaitua te Whanganui-a-Tara

Updated 18 July 2019 10:33am

Whaitua te Whanganui-a-Tara Committee is a group of local people from Hutt Valley- and Wellington assigned with developing a programme to improve the quality of our streams, rivers and harbour.

Established in November 2018, the Committee includes mana whenua, members of the community, and councillors from the four councils in this part of the region – Upper Hutt City Council, Hutt City Council, Wellington City Council and Greater Wellington Regional Council.

The Committee will spend the next two years analysing environmental, mana whenua, economic, and technical information alongside community knowledge to develop a Whaitua Implementation Programme, or WIP. The WIP will contain recommendations for the integrated management of land and water resources in the Hutt Valley and Wellington region. The WIP will have regulatory changes – to inform the development of a chapter in the Regional Council’s Natural Resources Plan – as well as non-regulatory methods such as education programmes and priorities for investment.

Meet your committee members:

Anya Pollock Gabriel Tupou Hikitia Ropata
Jonny Osborne Kara Puketapu-Dentice Louise Askin
Naomi Solomon Morrie Love (Recently retired - member of Committee from January-June 2019) Pat van Berkel
Cr. Paul Swain Cr. Peter Gilberd Peter Matcham
Quentin Duthie Cr. Roger Blakeley Cr. Tui Lewis
Mayor Wayne Guppy Zoe Ogilvie  

 The Whaitua Process

Whaitua is te reo Māori for catchment or space. The Wellington Region is divided into five whaitua, each of which will have a Whaitua Committee assigned to develop a programme to improve water quality. You can find out more about the Ruamāhanga and Te Awarua-o-Porirua committees.

This integrated approach to water management recognises the value of Ki Uta Ki Tai, the interconnectedness of nature, and sees the whole path of water, from mountains to sea, as something to be sustainably managed.

Of the five whaitua, the Ruamāhanga WIP has been completed and Te Awarua-o-Porirua WIP will be completed in early 2019. Whaitua committees will be established for Kapiti Coast and the Wairarapa Coast from 2020.

Whaitua committees’ recommendations are guided by the principles of Te Upoko Taiao – Natural Resource Management Committee which underpin the overall management approach of the regional plan.

Take a look at the five principles underpinning whaitua committee decision-making.

Community Input

The success of this process stands or falls on the level of public engagement it receives. The whaitua process is community led, and committee members come from a variety of communities across the catchment. For those who want to do their bit for water, this process is a real and tangible way to play a part. The committee will need to understand the ways in which whaitua communities use and value water, where the problems are, and how locals want to deal with those issues. 

Current state - Water quality and ecology

A report has been prepared to inform the Whaitua Te Whanganui-a-Tara Committee about the current state of the catchment's water quality and ecology. You can access the report here

Staying Connected

The best way to keep up to date with the whaitua process is here on this webpage or on facebook. We will keep you up to date on water issues and invite you to events or to fill short surveys which will help the Whaitua Te Whanganui-a-Tara Committee keep a pulse of our whaitua communities.

You can contact us by email

Follow us on facebook