Skip to content

Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

Updated 3 May 2018 2:22pm

The Wellington Regional Strategy Committee comprises of 10 members appointed by the Council. These members are, one regional councillor, four members nominated by Wellington City Council, one member nominated by each of   Kapiti Coast District Council,  Hutt City Council, Porirua City Council and Upper Hutt City Council, and one member nominated by the three Wairarapa district councils.

The Committee implements and develops the Wellington Regional Strategy, including overseeing the Wellington Regional Economic Development Agency.

Wellington Regional Strategy Committee
GWRC membership

Cr Roger Blakeley (Deputy Chair)

Other membership

Hutt City Council 

Mayor Ray Wallace

Kapiti Coast District Council

Mayor K. Gurunathan

Porirua City Council

Mayor Mike Tana

Upper Hutt City Council

Mayor Wayne Guppy

Carterton District Council, Masterton District Council, South Wairarapa District Council

 Mayor Lyn Patterson

Wellington City Council

Mayor Justin Lester (Chair), Deputy Mayor Jill Day, and Crs Calvert and Marsh

Committee functions

Develop and carry out the Wellington Regional

Terms of reference


Wellington Regional Strategy Committee


Further information

View the Wellington Regional Strategy document

Visit the Wellington Regional Strategy website

Visit the Grow Wellington website