Skip to content

Council and councillors

Council and councillors

Updated 26 October 2016 2:19pm

Greater Wellington Regional Council is a statutory body made up of 13 regional councillors, representing six constituencies:

  • Kapiti Coast - 1 representative
  • Lower Hutt - 3 representatives
  • Porirua-Tawa -2 representatives
  • Upper Hutt - 1 representative
  • Wairarapa - 1 representative
  • Wellington - 5 representatives
  • Click on each constituency for details about individual councillors.

    Every person 18 years and over is eligible to vote in local body elections, which are held every three years.

    The Council is responsible for developing policies that direct the activities of the Greater Wellington Regional Council. Various Acts of Parliament, such as the Local Government Act and the Resource Management Act state what activities the Council should, or may, be involved with. It is the Councillors' role to decide how the activities should be carried out.