Skip to content

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group

Updated 20 December 2019 10:15am
Civil Defence Emergency Management Group
GWRC membership


Cr Daran Ponter

Other membership

Carterton District Council

Mayor Greg Lang

Kāpiti Coast District Council

Mayor K Gurunathan

Hutt City Council

Mayor Campbell Barry

Masterton District Council

Mayor Lyn Patterson (Deputy Chair)

Porirua City Council

Mayor Anita Baker (Chair)

South Wairarapa District Council

Mayor Alex Beijen

Upper Hutt City Council

Mayor Wayne Guppy

Wellington City Council

Mayor Andy Foster

Committee functions

- To ensure that hazards (as defined in the Civil Defence Emergency Manamgement Act 2002 and the consequential risks are identified and assessed

- To ensure an effective and efficient region-wide civil defence emergency management capability to respond to and recover from emergencies (as defined in the Act)

- To facilitate effective and efficient emergency management throughpartnership and co-ordination amongst the organisations represented on the Co-ordinating Executive Group

- To promote appropriate mitigation of the risks.

Terms of reference

Civil Defence Emergency Management Group