

The matters referred to in these minutes were considered by Council in Public Excluded business. These minutes do not require confidentiality and may be considered in the public part of the meeting.

Report 23.500

Confirmed Public Excluded minutes of the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group meeting on Tuesday 19 September 2023

Carterton District Council

Taumata Kōrero – Council Chamber, Greater Wellington Regional Council 100 Cuba Street, Te Aro, Wellington at 11.10am.

Members Present

Hon. Mayor Mark (Deputy Chair)

Mayor Baker Porirua City Council

Mayor Barry Hutt City Council

Mayor Caffell Masterton City Council

Mayor Connelly South Wairarapa District Council
Deputy Mayor Foon Wellington City Council

Mayor Guppy Upper Hutt City Council
Mayor Holborow Kāpiti Coast District Council

Deputy Council Chair Staples Greater Wellington Regional Council

Mayor Barry participated in this meeting remotely via MS Teams in accordance with clause 25B of Schedule 7 to the Local Government Act 2002.

Hon. Mayor Ron Mark, as the Deputy Chair, presided at the meeting in the absence of the Joint Committee Chair.

Public excluded Business

Appointment of mana whenua advisors to the Wellington Region Civil Defence Emergency Management Group, and Members to the Coordinating Executive Group - Report PE23.454

Jeremy Holmes, WREMO, spoke to the report.

Moved: Deputy Mayor Foon / Mayor Connelly

That the Joint Committee:

- Notes that, at its meeting on 13 June 2023, the Wellington Region Civil Defence Emergency Management (CDEM) Group agreed to provide for the appointment of two mana whenua advisors to the CDEM Group and up to six mana whenua members and a Māori Warden member to the Coordinating Executive Group (CEG).
- 2 Agrees to provide for alternate mana whenua members to CEG.
- 3 Appoints to the CDEM Group as mana whenua advisors:
 - a Callum Katene
 - b Kura Moeahu
- 4 Notes that the mana whenua advisors appointed to the CDEM Group do not have voting rights.
- Notes that quorum for CDEM Group meetings remains at five local authority members.
- 6 Appoints to the CEG as mana whenua members:
 - a Denise Hapeta
 - b Frank Hippolite
 - c Mihirangi Hollings
 - d Wirangi Luke
 - e Helmut Modlik
 - f Tia Tuuta
- 7 Appoints Gabriel Tupou to the Wellington CEG as the Māori Warden member.
- 8 Appoints to the Wellington CEG as alternate mana whenua members:
 - a Kara Puketapu-Dentice
 - b Cherie Seamark
 - c Jennie Smeaton
 - d Kirsty Tamanui
 - e Hata Wilson
- 9 Notes that all mana whenua advisors and members (including the alternate members/advisor when attending in the absence of an appointed member/advisor) are entitled to receive a standard daily meeting/workshop fee of \$235 and may claim payment of mileage or reimbursement of public transport costs for attendance at meetings.

The motion was carried.

Karakia whakamutunga

The presiding member closed the meeting with a karakia whakamutunga.

The meeting closed at 11.14am

Mayor T Whanau

Chair 5.12.23.

Date:

