



## By email

31 January 2023

File Ref: EXTR-9-1386

Hon Grant Robertson Minister of Finance Freepost PO Box 18 888 Parliament Buildings Wellington 6160 Email: <u>g.robertson@ministers.govt.nz</u> Hon Michael Wood Minister of Transport Freepost PO Box 18 888 Parliament Buildings Wellington 6160 Email: <u>m.wood@ministers.govt.nz</u>

Tēnā kōrua

## Support of Lower North Island Rail Integrated Mobility - Budget 23 Bid

As Chairs, Mayors, and leaders of economic development in Wellington, Porirua and Kāpiti, we strongly support the Lower North Island Rail Integrated Mobility investment (LNIRIM) proposal prepared by Greater Wellington Regional Council and Horizons Regional Council. The proposal seeks to significantly improve inter-regional passenger rail service through the investment in a new fleet of modern four-car tri-mode units and associated infrastructure.

The proposed investment will bring significant economic and social benefits to our region by enhancing well-being through improved connectivity, inclusive access to public transport and improved safety. It is the key enabler to unlock access to affordable housing from Wellington to Levin and Wellington to Wairarapa, while improving equitable access to employment, education, health and recreation services, whānau and friends. Please find attached a Summary of LNIRIM which provides further information.

The new rail services provided through the LNIRIM proposal will enable access to new and existing communities, freeing people from private cars, and enabling us to fully realise the value of our investment in infrastructure, place-making and economic development. All the relevant Territorial Authorities are updating their District Plan provisions to comply with the requirements of the NPS-UD, which in turn will support improved access to passenger rail transport services.





Absolutely Positively Wellington City Council Horowhenua 😴



The initiative is also key to achieving our collective mode shift, decarbonisation and Vehicle Kilometres Travelled (VKT) targets, at both central and local government level. It is completely aligned with the Government Policy Statement on Land Transport 2021-31, which prioritises the development of "a low carbon transport system that supports emissions reductions while improving safety and inclusive access". For instance, it will help achieve two<sup>1</sup> of the four targets in MFE's Emissions Reduction Plan. Its outcomes will be further decarbonisation of the regional public transport network and a key step towards the strategic goal of achieving an "efficient, accessible and low carbon public transport network".

It is important to note that the new trains are also now desperately required to replace end of life carriages on the Palmerston North and Wairarapa lines, which by 2027 will be 55 years old and are unlikely to be certified for further operation.

On behalf of the communities of Wellington, Porirua, Kapiti and Horowhenua, we welcome and encourage the Government's support of this transformational next step in our regions' transport infrastructure.

Ngā mihi

um Joaler

Daran Ponter Chair, Greater Wellington

redmen

Rachel Keedwell Chair, Horizons

 <sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Target 1 – Reduce total kilometres travelled (VKT) by the light fleet by 20 per cent by 2035 through improved urban form and providing better travel options, particularly in our largest cities. Target 3 – Reduce emissions from freight transport (trucks, rail, ships) by 35 per cent by 2035.

andolu

Anita Baker Mayor Porirua City Council

Janet Holborow Mayor Kāpiti Coast District Council

Tory Whanau Mayor Wellington City Council

Bernie Wanden Mayor Horowhenua District Council

Tracey Martin Chair Wellington Leadership Committee

Daphne Luke Chair Te Matarau a Maui

## Attachment: Summary of LNIRIM (A3)

*CC*: Rt Hon Adrian Rurawhe, Hon Andrew Little, Hon Dr Ayesha Verrall, Hon Barbara Edmonds, Brooke van Velden, Chris Bishop, Rt Hon Chris Hipkins, Debbie Ngarewa-Packer, Hon Ginny Andersen, Greg O'Connor, Jan Logie, Hon Julie Anne Genter, Hon Kieran McAnulty, Hon Meka Whaitiri, Nicola Willis, Nicole McKee, Paul Eagle, Hon Rino Tirkatene, Hon James Shaw, Terisa Ngobi