# Terms of Reference for 2019-2022 Triennium

Lower Ruamahanga Valley Floodplain Management Advisory Committee (An

advisory committee to the Wairarapa Committee)

## 1 Purpose

- 1.1 Provide oversight of the development, implementation and review of the Lower Wairarapa Valley Development Scheme and floodplain management plans (FMPs) for the Lower Ruamahanga Valley floodplains in a way which:
  - a Recognises the need of the community to mitigate the effects of flooding to an acceptable level of risk and in a sustainable way
  - b Recognises that flood risk cannot be completely eliminated and that provisions must be implemented to handle residual risk
  - c Recognises that methods chosen to mitigate the effects of flooding must be affordable
  - d Balances the priorities of Council in funding flood mitigation methods with the aspirations and contribution of the local community for implementation of the methods and ensures that any flood management solutions chosen can be accommodated within the funding constraints of Council's Long Term Plan
  - e Ensures that methods adopted through FMPs to mitigate the effects of flooding consider the river/stream environment, recognising the unique nature and the role that rivers/streams play in the lives of the community.
- 1.2 Provide oversight of the public involvement process for FMPs within a framework recommended by the Lower Ruamahanga Valley Floodplain Advisory Committee (the Advisory Committee) that:
  - a Ensures that the information base held by the community is made available to decision makers when appropriate
  - b Enhances community awareness of FMPs
  - c Develops public confidence in the process of FMPs
  - d Develops and maintains a network of contacts and mechanisms which can be used to provide community input required for FMPs and to obtain that input when appropriate.

# 2 Status of the Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee is an advisory body established by Council. The Advisory Committee is not a subordinate decision making body of Council and is not a committee under the Local Government Act 2002.

### 2 Members

2.1 Two Councillors, being the Councillor elected by the Wairarapa Constituency and the Chair of the Environment Committee.

- 2.2 Eleven members, appointed by Council, as follows:
  - a One member, being an elected member of the South Wairarapa District Council, nominated by that council
  - b Eight members, nominated by the local scheme committees
  - c One member, nominated by Ngati Kahungunu ki Wairarapa
  - d One member, nominated by Rangitāne ō Wairarapa.
- 2.3 Such other members, appointed by the Wairarapa Committee, on the nomination of the Advisory Committee, who have the necessary skills, attributes or knowledge that will assist the work of the Advisory Committee.

#### 4 Chair

Council appoints the Chair on nomination of the Advisory Committee.

#### 5 Quorum

At least 50 percent of the members, including one Council Advisory Committee member.

#### 6 Alternate members

No alternate members/proxies are permitted.

#### 7 Voting entitlement

All members have equal voting and speaking rights.

#### 8 Reporting and servicing

The Advisory Committee reports to the Wairarapa Committee, and is serviced by Greater Wellington.

#### 8 Remuneration and expenses

- 8.1 Elected members' remuneration and expenses are met by the council they represent.
- 8.2 Non-elected members (who are not otherwise remunerated) may claim Greater Wellington's standard daily meeting attendance allowances and expenses.
- 8.3 Provided the Chair is not an elected member of a council, the Chair shall also be eligible to receive an annual taxable honorarium of \$5,000 (in addition to Greater Wellington's standard daily meeting attendance allowances and expenses).

### **10** Meeting frequency and life of the Advisory Committee

10.1 The Advisory Committee shall meet as required and may, by resolution, recommend its dissolution to the Wairarapa Committee.

10.2 In the absence of a prior decision made by Council to continue the Advisory Committee in the next triennium, the Advisory Committee will dissolve at the end of the 2019-22 triennium.