

 Report
 12.290

 Date
 14 June 2012

 File
 E/09/17/05

CommitteeCouncilAuthorAnna Kennedy

# Appointment of the local government representatives to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

#### 1. Purpose

To appoint the local government representatives to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee (WRS Committee).

## 2. The decision-making process and significance

The matters requiring decision in this report have been considered by officers against the requirements of Part 6 of the Local Government Act 2002.

#### 2.1 Significance of the decision

Officers have considered the significance of the matter, taking into account the Council's significance policy and decision-making guidelines. Due to the procedural nature of this decision officers recommend that the matter be considered to have low significance.

Officers do not consider that a formal record outlining consideration of the decision-making process is required in this instance.

### 3. Comment

Subject to Greater Wellington re-establishing the WRS Committee, the Terms of Reference provide that the Committee will be made up of nine local government members and five non-local government members, all of whom need to be appointed by the Council.

The nine local government members are to represent the following Councils:

- i) Greater Wellington Regional Council
- ii) Carterton District Council

- iii) Hutt City Council
- iv) Kapiti Coast District Council
- v) Masterton District Council
- vi) Porirua City Council
- vii) South Wairarapa District Council
- viii) Upper Hutt City Council
- ix) Wellington City Council.

The local government members may be replaced from time to time by written notice from a local authority to Greater Wellington Regional Council, confirming the amended nomination.

In addition, the Terms of Reference provide that each local government member may be represented by an alternate. An alternate member is able to attend meetings with the same rights as the appointed member when that appointed member is unable to attend a meeting. If a member is unable to attend a meeting of the WRS Committee, only his or her alternate may vote on that member's behalf.

The Regional Councillor appointed to the Committee must have an alternate who may attend and vote at the meetings of the Committee when the appointed Regional councillor is unable to attend a meeting.

## 4. Nominations

Nominations from the region's territorial authorities for the local government representatives have been received and are listed as recommended appointments below.

It is recommended that Councillor Fran Wilde be appointed to the WRS Committee as the Regional Council member, and Councillor Peter Glensor as the alternate.

## 5. Communication

The relevant local authorities will be advised of Council's appointments to the WRS Committee.

### 6. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. *Notes the content of the report.*
- 3. **Appoints** Cr Fran Wilde to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee as a local government member, and Cr Peter Glensor as the alternate.

4. **Appoints** the following to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee as local government members:

Territorial Authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor Ron Mark	Cr John Booth
Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace	Cr David Bassett
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Roger Booth
Masterton District Council	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr David Holmes
Porirua City Council	Mayor Nick Leggett	Cr Ken Douglas
South Wairarapa District Council	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Vivienne Napier
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
Wellington City Council	Mayor Celia Wade- Brown	Cr Ian McKinnon

Report prepared by:

Report approved by:

Anna Kennedy Democratic Services Advisor

Francis Ryan Manager, Democratic Services