Report	11. 585
Date	15 November 2011
File	Z/01/04/19

Committee CDEM Group Author Rian van Schalkwyk, CDEM Group Office

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To enable the Wellington CDEM Group to appoint persons as required under the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act, 2002 (CDEM Act.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires Civil Defence Emergency Management Groups (CDEM Groups) to officially appoint Group and Local Controllers (plus alternates).

In addition, the Wellington CDEM Group Plan (Part 5 – Administrative Arrangements) requires the Wellington CDEM Group to formally appoint Recovery Managers (and Alternates), Lifelines Co-ordinator (and Alternate), and the CDEM Group Welfare Manager.

3. Group appointments required in the CDEM Group Plan

Appendix 4 of the Group Plan lists the statutory and non-statutory appointments made by the CDEM Group to give effect to its structural arrangements.

At its meeting of 4 November 2011 the CEG Sub Committee decided to recommend to the CDEM Group that Messrs Paul Nickalls and Mike Mendonca be appointed as interim additional Alternate Group Controllers for the Wellington CDEM Group until the new CDEM structure for the region is implemented. Both are well experienced Local Controllers and will strengthen the region's capability in addressing emergency events.

Hutt City Council has also decided to appoint Mr Matt Reid as their Alternate Controller and Recovery Manager.

The following tables show the new appointments (in bold) that are recommended, along with existing appointments:

Statutory appointments:

Group Controller	Rian van Schalkwyk
Alternate Group	Ian Gunn
Controllers	Craig Hamilton
	Paul Nickalls
	Mike Mendonca

Territorial Authority	Local Controllers	Local recovery
		managers
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca	Greg Orchard
	Julian Moore (Alternate)	Stavros Michael
	Stavros Michael (Alternate)	Mike Mendonca
	Fred Mecoy (Alternate)	John Scott
Porirua City	Mike Chapman	Moira Lawler
	Karen Stillwell (Alternate)	
	Trevor Farmer (Alternate)	
Kapiti District	Bernie Goedhart	Bernie Goedhart
	Leigh Sage (Alternate)	
	Scott Dray (Alternate)	
Hutt City	Paul Nickalls	Matt Reid
	Matt Reid (Alternate)	
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach	Lachlan Wallach
	Paul Nickalls (Alternate)	
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell	Kyra Low
Emergency	Mark Allingham (Alternate)	Milan Hautler
Management Office	Jonathan Hooker (Alternate)	Roger Gardner
(South Wairarapa	Rodger Gardner (Alternate)	
District	Murray Johnstone (Alternate)	
Carterton District Masterton District)		
wasterton District)		

Non-statutory appointments:

Group Recovery	Francis Ryan
Manager	
Alternate Group	Tim Porteus
Recovery Managers	Barry Leonard
Group Lifelines Co-	David Brunsdon
ordinators	Sandra Pedersen (Alternate)
Group Welfare	Kate O'Regan
Manager	

4. Recommendation

That the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group:

- 1. Makes the following appointments:
 - Paul Nickalls (HCC), Alternate Group Controller
 - Mike Mendonca (WCC), Alternate Group Controller
 - Matt Reid, Local Controller and Recovery Manager, Hutt City Council

Report prepared by:

Report approved by:

Rian van Schalkwyk Manager, CDEM Group Office Murray Kennedy Group Manager, Development