

Report 11. 451

Date 2 September 2011

File Z/01/04/19

Committee CDEM Group

Author Rian van Schalkwyk, CDEM Group Office

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To enable the Wellington CDEM Group to appoint persons as required under the Civil Defence Emergency Management Act, 2002 (CDEM Act.

2. Background

The CDEM Act (Sections 26 and 27) requires Civil Defence Emergency Management Groups (CDEM Groups) to officially appoint Group and Local Controllers (plus alternates).

In addition, the Wellington CDEM Group Plan (Part 5 – Administrative Arrangements) requires the Wellington CDEM Group to formally appoint Recovery Managers (and Alternates), Lifelines Co-ordinator (and Alternate), and the CDEM Group Welfare Manager.

3. Group appointments required in the CDEM Group Plan

Appendix 4 of the Group Plan lists the statutory and non-statutory appointments made by the CDEM Group to give effect to its structural arrangements.

A number of local authorities need to change their appointments in the Group Plan because of staff changes.

The following tables show the new appointments (in bold) that are recommended, along with existing appointments:

WGN_DOCS#963110 PAGE 1 OF 3

Statutory appointments:

Group Controller	Rian van Schalkwyk
Alternate Group	Ian Gunn
Controllers	Craig Hamilton

Territorial Authority	Local Controllers	Local recovery
		managers
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca	Greg Orchard
	Julian Moore (Alternate)	Stavros Michael
	Stavros Michael (Alternate)	Mike Mendonca
	Fred Mecoy (Alternate)	John Scott
Porirua City	Mike Chapman	Moira Lawler
	Karen Stillwell (Alternate)	
	Trevor Farmer (Alternate)	
Kapiti District	Bernie Goedhart	Bernie Goedhart
	Leigh Sage (Alternate)	
	Scott Dray (Alternate)	
Hutt City	Paul Nickalls	Vacant
	Lachlan Wallach (Alternate)	
Upper Hutt City	Lachlan Wallach	Lachlan Wallach
	Paul Nickalls (Alternate)	
Wairarapa	Kevin Tunnell	Kyra Low
Emergency	Mark Allingham (Alternate)	Milan Hautler
Management Office	Jonathan Hooker (Alternate)	Roger Gardner
(South Wairarapa	Rodger Gardner (Alternate)	
	Murray Johnstone (Alternate)	
Management Office	Jonathan Hooker (Alternate) Rodger Gardner (Alternate)	

Non-statutory appointments:

Group Recovery	Francis Ryan
Manager	
Alternate Group	Tim Porteus
Recovery Managers	Barry Leonard
Group Lifelines Co-	David Brunsdon
ordinators	Sandra Pedersen (Alternate)
Group Welfare	Kate O'Regan
Manager	

4. Recommendation

That the Civil Defence Emergency Management Group:

- 1. **Makes** the following appointments:
 - Karen Stillwell, Alternate Local Controller, Porirua City Council
 - Lachlan Wallach, Local Controller, Upper Hutt City Council

WGN_DOCS#963110 PAGE 2 OF 3

- Lachlan Wallach, Alternate Local Controller, Hutt City Council
- Kevin Tunnell, , Local Controller for the Wairarapa Emergency Management Office
- Jonathan Hooker, Rodger Gardner, Murray Johnstone and Mark Allingham, Alternate Local Controllers for the Wairarapa Emergency Management Office

Report prepared by: Report approved by:

Rian van Schalkwyk Manager, CDEM Group Office Murray Kennedy General Manager Utilities and Services

WGN_DOCS#963110 PAGE 3 OF 3