Terms of Reference for the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee established to consider coastal permit application 27250 (Horokiwi Quarries Ltd)

February 2010

Contents

1.	Membership	3
	Meeting procedures	
	Powers	
	Responsibilities	
5	Duration of Committee	-



1. Membership

The membership of the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee for coastal permit application 27250 shall be made up of three members:

- Christine Foster (Chair)
- Cr Chris Laidlaw
- Byrdie Ayres.

The quorum is three members.

2. Meeting procedures

All members have equal speaking and voting rights (one per member). In addition, the Chair may exercise a casting vote.

Hearings will be open to the public, except where there are grounds to exclude the public in terms of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987.

3. Powers

The Committee has the power to exercise any of the powers and duties specified in section 117(6) of the Resource Management Act 1991, being the provisions that applied prior to the commencement of the Resource Management (Simplifying and Streamlining) Amendment Act 2009.

4. Responsibilities

The Committee shall ensure that:

- The hearing and consideration process is carried out in a way that is effective and timely.
- Submitters are provided with the best possible opportunity to be heard in support of their submission.
- The process of making a recommendation to the Minister of Conservation is robust and transparent and the summary of the consultation process adequately, fairly and demonstrably reflects the submitters' comments.

5. Duration of Committee

The Committee is deemed to be dissolved after it has made its recommendation to the Minister of Conservation on the restricted coastal activity application.