

 Report
 11.107

 Date
 9 March 2011

 File
 E/11/09/05

Committee Council Author Margaret Meek, Senior Policy Analyst

Appointment of members to the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee

1. Purpose

To appoint members to the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee.

2. Significance of the decision

The matters for decision in this report do not trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

3. Background and comment

The Terms of Reference for the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee (the Subcommittee) provide that the membership of the subcommittee includes:

Three members, being elected members of Hutt City Council appointed by the Council on nomination by Hutt City Council.

Three members, being elected members of Upper Hutt City Council appointed by the Council on nomination by Upper Hutt City Council.

An appointed member nominated by the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust.

On 25 November 2010 Greater Wellington requested nominations from the Hutt City Council, the Upper Hutt City Council and the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust.

The following nominations have been received:

Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace
	Cr David Bassett
	Cr Roger Styles

Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy
	Cr Nellie Gillies
	Cr Dean Rabbitt
Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust	Mrs Liz Mellish

4. Communication

Hutt City Council, Upper Hutt City Council and the Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust will be advised of the outcome of the Council's decision.

5. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. *Appoints* the nominees listed in the table below to the Hutt Valley Flood Management Subcommittee:

Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace
	Cr David Bassett
	Cr Roger Styles
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy
	Cr Nellie Gillies
	Cr Dean Rabbitt
Port Nicholson Block Settlement Trust	Mrs Liz Mellish

Report prepared by:

Report approved by:

Margaret Meek Senior Policy Analyst Francis Ryan Manager, Democratic Services