

Report 10.614

Date 11 November 2010

File E/09/17/05

Committee Council

Author Margaret Meek, Senior Policy Analyst

Appointments to the Regional Transport Committee

1. Purpose

To appoint territorial authority and New Zealand Transport Agency representatives to the Regional Transport Committee in accordance with the Land Transport Management Act 2003.

2. Significance of the decision

The matters in this report do not trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

3. Background and Comment

3.1 Membership

The Land Transport Management Act 2003 (the Act) specifies the following composition for committee membership:

- Two persons to represent the Regional Council
- One person from each territorial authority in the region to represent that territorial authority
- One person to represent the New Zealand Transport Agency
- One person to represent each of the following (with full speaking rights, but no voting entitlement on matters relating to regional land transport programmes):
 - o the objective of economic development

WGN_DOCS-#856879-V1 PAGE 1 OF 4

- o the objective of safety and personal security
- o the objective of public health
- o the objective of access and mobility
- o the objective of sustainability
- o cultural interests.

Nominations for the representatives of the territorial authorities and of the New Zealand Transport Agency were sought from those organisations. The nominations that have been received are listed below.

3.1.1 Appointment of objective and cultural interest members

Recommendations relating to the objective and cultural interests representatives are contained in Report PE 10.616.

3.1.2 Appointment of territorial authority representatives

The nominated representatives of the region's territorial authorities and their alternates are:

Territorial Authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor Ron Mark	Cr Barbara Durbin
Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace	Cr Roger Styles
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Tony Lester
Masterton District Council	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr Gary Caffell
Porirua City Council	Mayor Nick Leggett	-
South Wairarapa District Council	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Vivien Napier
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
Wellington City Council	Mayor Celia Wade- Brown	Cr Andy Foster

WGN_DOCS-#856879-V1 PAGE 2 OF 4

3.1.3 Appointment of New Zealand Transport Agency representative

The New Zealand Transport Agency has nominated Jenny Chetwynd, Regional Director Central to be the Agency's representative on the Committee. Lyndon Hammond, Regional Partnerships and Planning Manager Central, has been nominated as Ms Chetwynd's alternate on the Committee.

4. Communication

The territorial authorities and New Zealand Transport Agency will be notified of the Council's decision.

5. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. **Resolves** to appoint the following to the Regional Transport Committee as territorial authority representatives:

Territorial Authority	Appointee	Alternate
Carterton District Council	Mayor Ron Mark	Cr Barbara Durbin
Hutt City Council	Mayor Ray Wallace	Cr Roger Styles
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Tony Lester
Masterton District Council	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr Gary Caffell
Porirua City Council	Mayor Nick Leggett	-
South Wairarapa District Council	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Vivien Napier
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
Wellington City Council	Mayor Celia Wade- Brown	Cr Andy Foster

5. **Resolves** to appoint Jenny Chetwynd to represent the New Zealand Transport Agency on the Committee and to appoint Lyndon Hammond as Ms Chetwynd's alternate on the Committee.

WGN_DOCS-#856879-V1 PAGE 3 OF 4

Report prepared by: Report approved by:

Margaret Meek Senior Policy Analyst Francis Ryan Manager, Democratic Services

WGN_DOCS-#856879-V1 PAGE 4 OF 4