Terms of Reference for the Wairarapa Corridor Plan Hearings Subcommittee

Adopted by the Regional Transport Committee on the 9 March 2010

1. Membership

The membership of the Wairarapa Corridor Plan Hearing Subcommittee shall be made up of five members as follows:

- Councillor Fran Wilde
- Mayor Staples
- Mayor McPhee
- Mayor Daniell
- Dr Hume

Fran Wilde is the chairperson of the Wairarapa Corridor Plan Hearings Subcommittee.

The quorum is three members.

2. Meeting procedures

Hearings will be open to the public, except where there are grounds to exclude the public in terms of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987.

The Wellington Regional Council Standing Orders apply.

Members must be present for the substantial part of the hearings and deliberations in order to participate in the decision making of the Subcommittee.

3. Powers

The subcommittee has the power to:

- Hear oral submissions on the draft Wairarapa Corridor Plan.
- Consider both the written and oral submissions on the draft Wairarapa Corridor Plan.
- Summarise the outcomes of the consultation process.
- Seek clarification from Council officers on any technical matters.
- Prepare a report to the RTC with recommendations regarding amendments to the draft Wairarapa Corridor Plan.

4. Responsibilities

The subcommittee shall ensure that:

- The hearing and consideration process is carried out in a way that is effective and timely.
- Submitters are provided with the best possible opportunity to be heard in support of their submission.
- The decision-making process is robust and transparent and the summary of the consultation process adequately, fairly and demonstrably reflects the submitters' comments.

5. Duration of subcommittee

The subcommittee is deemed to be dissolved at the end of the Wairarapa Corridor Plan consultation and decision making process.