Report 09. 677

Date 15 October 2009 File Z/01/04/20

Committee CDEM Group
Author Dr Roger Blakeley

CDEM Group Appointments

1. Purpose

To request the Wellington CDEM Group to make a number of appointments for the CDEM Group.

2. Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)

At its meeting of 5 October 2009, CEG endorsed the recommendations in this report.

3. Background

Legislation requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area (S.26 (1) of the CDEM Act 2002) and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason (S.26 (2) of the CDEM Act 2002).

S.27 (1) of the CDEM Act 2002 states that a CDEM Group may appoint 1 or more persons to be a Local Controller, and direct that person or persons to carry out any of the functions and duties of, or delegated to, that Group's Group Controller and to exercise the powers of Controllers in the area for which the Group Controller is appointed, including, but not limited to, the powers in sections 86 to 94.

4. Group appointments in the CDEM Group Plan

Appendix 4 of the Group Plan lists the statutory and non-statutory appointments made by the CDEM Group to give effect to its structural arrangements.

A number of local authorities need to change their appointments in the Group Plan because of staff changes.

WGN_DOCS#706888 PAGE 1 OF 3

The following tables show the new appointments (in bold) that are recommended, along with existing appointments:

Group Controller	Jane Bradbury
	Ian Gunn (1 st Alternate)
Controllers	Craig Hamilton (2 nd Alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (3 rd Alternate)

Territorial Authority	Local Controllers	Local recovery managers
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca Stavros Michael (alternate)	Greg Orchard John Scott (alternate)
Porirua City	Roger Blakeley Mike Chapman (alternate) Trevor Farmer (alternate)	Moira Lawler
Kapiti District	Kevin Jefferies Gary Simpson (alternate) Don McGuire (alternate)	Bernie Goedhart Wayne Gair (alternate)
Hutt City	Paul Nickalls Marty Grenfell (alternate)	Stuart Duncan
Upper Hutt City	Chris Upton Paul Nickalls (alternate)	Lachlan Wallach
South Wairarapa District	Derek Theobald	Kyra Low
Carterton District	Elaine Brazendale Milan Hautler (alternate)	Milan Hautler
Masterton District	Kevin Tunnell Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Luther Toloa (alternate) Roger Gardner (alternate)	George Butcher

Non-statutory appointments:

Group Recovery	Francis Ryan
Manager	
Alternate Group	Barry Leonard
Recovery Managers	Tim Porteous
Group Lifelines Co-	David Brunsdon
ordinators	Sandra Pedersen (Alternate)
Group Welfare	Emma Smith
Manager	
_	

5. Recommendation

That the CDEM Group:

1. **Makes** the following appointments:

Group Welfare Manager – Emma Smith

WGN_DOCS#706888 PAGE 2 OF 3

Wellington City Local Recovery Manager – Greg Orchard

Wellington City Alternate Local Recovery Manager – John Scott

Porirua City Local Recovery Manager – Moira Lawler

Report prepared by:

Dr Roger BlakeleyChair, Co-ordinating Executive Group

WGN_DOCS#706888 PAGE 3 OF 3