

Please note that these minutes remain unconfirmed until the meeting of Council on 9 June 2009.

Report 09.270

13 May 2009
File: E/06/01/04
m:\mydata\min\s\council\09.270pwdoc

Minutes of the meeting of the Proposed 10-Year Plan 2009-19 Hearing Committee of Council in the Council Chamber, Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Wednesday 13 May to Friday 15 May 2009 commencing on 13 May at 9.30 am

Present

Councillors Wilde (Chair), Baber, Bruce, Buchanan, Burke, Donaldson, Greig, and Wilson.

Also present

Councillors Aitken (13 and 15 May), Glensor (13 and 15 May), Laidlaw (14 May) and Lamason (14 and 15 May).

01 Apologies

Resolved

(Cr Greig/Cr Wilson)

That the Committee:

Accepts the apology for absence from Councillor Kirton.

02 Declarations of conflict of interest

Councillor Baber declared a conflict of interest in matters relating the resource consent application for discharges into the Ruamahanga River, and withdrew from the Chamber for the duration of the hearing of submissions 85 and 128 (Perry Cameron).

O3 Process for considering submissions on the Proposed 10-Year Plan 2009-19, incorporating the Annual Plan 2009/10

Report 09.231 File: SP/04/02/03

Resolved (Cr Donaldson/Cr Wilson)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Considers all written and oral submissions in the manner set out in section 4 of the report, and the additional matters outlined in section 5 of the report.
- 4. Notes the responses from Divisional Managers on the submissions.
- 5. Asks the Chief Executive to further report on the implications of any proposals that it considers warrant further consideration at the Council meeting on 9 June 2009, as well as on any matters which may impact on rate requirements.
- 6. Agrees that the Council Chair signs the formal replies to all submitters on the basis of Divisional Managers' replies, or as otherwise recommended by the Committee and determined by Council, following formal adoption of the 10-Year Plan 2009-19.
- 04 Summary of submissions received on the Proposed 10 -Year Plan 2009-19

Report 09.241 File: SP/04/02/05

Resolved (Cr Wilde/Cr Wilson)

That the Committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes the content of the report.*

05 Hearing and consideration of submissions

Wednesday 13 May

Name	Sub	Representing	Time
Peter Gawith	442,	·	9.40-9.49 am
	443, &		
	439		
Peter Gawith, Emily	444	Wairarapa Hill Country Advisory	9:50 -9.55
Crofoot, & Jenny Boyne		Committee	
Anders Crofoot	398		9.56-10.07
Stephen Eames	346	Muritai School, Eastbourne	10.08-10.19
Alan Gray & Mike	329	Pauatahanui Residents	10.20-10.34
Conroy		Association	
Anders Crofoot	379	Federated Farmers Wairarapa	10.42-10.51
Perry Cameron	128 & 85	•	11.15-11.26
Elizabeth Orr	132		11.26-11.34
Anthony Arthur	196		11.35-11.46
Alana Bowman	193		11.47-11.57
Betty van Gaalen	345	Kapiti Coast Grey Power Assn Inc.	11.58-12.12
Simon Taylor	211		12:12-12.22
Walter Friedel	357	Efficiency & Conservation Authority	12.23-12.38
Maria van der Meel, Ian	360		12.39-12.51
Drysdale, Wendy Post,			
& Keith Flynn			
Bev Abbott	363	Wellington Botanical Society	12.51-1.00
Bill Nairn	299	The Printing Museum Inc.	1.00-1.07
Andrew Wilks	368	Facilities Management VUW	2.00-2.06
David Ogden	456		2.10-2.19
RLH Taylor	318		2.23-2.32
Keith McGavin &	327	Wellington Tramway Museum Inc.	2.32-2.44
Henry Britain		,	
Hellen Swales	323	Experience Upper Hutt	2.44-2.58
Ian Shearer & Christina	416	Resilient Communities	3.20-3.33
Bellis	.10		0.20 0.00
Phil Valentine	325	Cycle Aware Wellington	3.34-3.40
Andrew Hutson	351	Moonshine Valley Residents' Assn	3.41-3.52
John Lancashire	380	Friends of Queen Elizabeth Park	3.53-4.03
Michael Ellis	382	North/East Community Committee,	4.06-4.13
		Hutt City Council	

Paula Warren	244		4.13-4.21
John Vannisselroy	391	Korokoro Environmental Group	4.21-4.27
Geoff Copps & Shane Atkinson	393	Wairarapa Regional Irrigation Trust	4.27-4.31
Corina Jordan	397	Wellington Fish & Game Council	4.31-4.45

Thursday 14 May

Quentin Duthie (on behalf of Dr Russell Norman, MP)	331	Green Party	9.35-9.49 am
Quentin Duthie & Caitlin Carew	404 & 407		9.49-9.55
Dr Stephen Palmer	405	Regional Public Health	9.55-10.10
Charles Finny	457	Wellington Regional Chamber of Commerce	10.10-10.21
Nick Collins & Dorothy Wilson	385	Beacon Pathway Ltd	10.21-10.36
Barry Millage	235		10.36-10.40
Liz Springford	409		10.40-10.51
Karyn Burgess	348	Enviroschools, Wellington Region	10.51-11.05
Chris Renwick	412		11.05-11.11
Cheryl McDowell	422	Raumati Public Transport Action Group	11.11-11.26
Chris Montgomerie	344	Sustainable Business Network	11.35-11.43
Bruce Emson	392	NZ Bus	11.43-11.51
Mayor Jenny Brash, Dr Roger Blakeley, & Keith Calder	424	Porirua City Council	11.51-12.21
Barbara Mitcalfe	425		12.21-12.27
Bob Andrews	432		12.27-12.35
Tony Randle & Tracey Faulkner	421	Johnsonville & Newlands Paparangi Progressive Associations	12.35-12.46
Peter Gaskin	463	Wellington TB Free Committee	12.46-12.54
Mike Mellor	410	Living Streets Wellington	12.54- 1.05
Ben Riddicks, Helen Algar, & Emily Greenberg	364	Department of Conservation	1.05- 1.23
Helen Algar	455	Wellington Conservation Board	1.23- 1.32
Dr Pamela Williams	342		2:08- 2.18
Frank Cook	350		2.18- 2.28

William McCook	453	Animal Health Board	2.29- 2.42
David Butler	352	Wellington Labour Local Body Ctte	2.42- 2.57
Mayor Wayne Guppy and Councillors Austin & Christianson	454	Upper Hutt City Council	2:57- 3.17
Wendy McGuinness	272	Sustainable Future	3.35-3.50
J.A. Edwards	448		3.55-4.13

Friday 15 May

Russell Bell	319	Lower Hutt Forest & Bird Protection Society	9.36-9.50 am
Maria McMillan	374	Right to Water	9.50-10.05
Feriel Falconer	324	Friends of the Waikanae River	10.07-10.14
Warwick Taylor	408		10.15-10.26
EJ Phipps & Marten Young	263		10.27-10.39
Te Waari Carkeek, Te Hope Hakaraia, Graeme Hastilow, Jack Rikihana, Frances Ladysmith, Alma Mihaere, Liz Mellish & Mark Te One.	349	Ara Tahi	10.45-11.23

Noted

- All written submissions were considered.
- On 13 May Councillors Baber and Burke left the meeting at 4.55 pm.
- On 13 May the meeting was adjourned between 11.04 am and 11.15 am for morning tea, between 1.07 pm and 1.35 pm for lunch, between 3.03 pm and 3.20 pm for afternoon tea, between 5.11 pm and 5.20 pm, and between 6.02 pm and 9.34 am on Thursday 14 May 2009 for the evening.
- On 14 May the meeting was adjourned between 11.26 am and 11.35 am for morning tea, between 1.32 pm and 2.08 pm for lunch, between 1.32 pm and 2.08 pm for afternoon tea and between 5.45 pm and 9.34 am on Friday 15 May 2009 for the evening.
- On 15 May the meeting was adjourned between 11.25 am and 11.45 am for morning tea, between 12.56 and 1.34 pm for lunch.

The meeting closed at 3.07 pm on Friday 15 May.

Cr FH WILDE

Chair