Date	14 April 2009
File	Z/01/04/20
Committee Author	CDEM Group Dr Roger Blakeley, Chair Co-ordinating Executive Group

# **CDEM Group Appointments**

09 207

#### 1. Purpose

Renort

To request the Wellington CDEM Group to make a number of appointments for the CDEM Group.

## 2. Co-ordinating Executive Group (CEG)

At its meeting of 6 April 2009, CEG endorsed the recommendations in this report.

#### 3. Background

The CDEM Act requires a CDEM Group to appoint, either by name or reference to the holder of an office, a suitably qualified and experienced person to be the Group Controller for its area and to appoint at least one suitably qualified and experienced person to perform the functions and duties, and exercise the powers of the Group Controller if they are absent from duty for any reason.

It also states that a CDEM Group may appoint one or more persons to be a Local Controller.

As a result of staff changes several positions have become vacant. New positions have also been established to enhance the Group's capacity.

## 4. Group appointments in the CDEM Group Plan

Appendix 4 of the Group Plan lists the statutory and non-statutory appointments made by the CDEM Group to give effect to its structural arrangements. These positions are for Group Controller (and alternates), Group Recovery Manager (and alternate), Local Controllers (and alternates), Local Recovery Managers and Group Lifelines Co-ordinators.

The updated list of appointments is shown below with the proposed new appointments in bold.

Statutory appointments:

Group Controller	Jane Bradbury
Alternate Group Ian Gunn (1 <sup>st</sup> Alternate)	
Controllers	Craig Hamilton (2 <sup>nd</sup> Alternate)
	Rian van Schalkwyk (3 <sup>th</sup> Alternate)

Territorial Authority	Local Controllers	Local recovery managers
Wellington City	Mike Mendonca Stavros Michael (alternate)	Vacant
Porirua City	Roger Blakeley Mike Chapman (alternate) <b>Trevor Farmer (alternate)</b>	Sue Veart Moira Lawler (alternate)
Kapiti District	Kevin Jefferies Gary Simpson (alternate) Ken Smith (alternate) Don McGuire (alternate)	Bernie Goedhart Wayne Gair (alternate)
Hutt City	Paul Nickalls Marty Grenfell (alternate) Chris Upton (alternate)	Matt Reid
Upper Hutt City	<b>Chris Upton</b> Paul Nickalls (alternate)	Chris Upton
South Wairarapa District	Derek Theobald	Kyra Low
Carterton District	Elaine Brazendale Milan Hautler (alternate)	Milan Hautler
Masterton District	Kevin Tunnell Jonathan Hooker (alternate) Luther Toloa (alternate) Roger Gardner (alternate)	George Butcher

Non-statutory appointments:

•	Francis Ryan
Manager	
Alternate Group	Barry Leonard
<b>Recovery Managers</b>	Tim Porteous
Group Lifelines Co-	David Brunsdon
ordinators	Sandra Pedersen (Alternate)

## 5. Recommendation

That the CDEM Group:

1. *Makes* the following appointments:

Porirua City Local Controller (alternate) – Trevor Farmer

Porirua City Local Recovery Manager (alternate) – Moira Lawler Upper Hutt City Local Controller – Chris Upton Upper Hutt City Local Recovery Manager – Chris Upton Hutt City Local Controller (alternate) – Chris Upton Hutt City Local Recovery Manager – Matt Reid

Report prepared by:

Dr Roger Blakeley Chair, Co-ordinating Executive Group