

Report 08.750

Date 14 October 2008 File E/06/34/01

Committee Regional Transport Committee

Author Tim Henwood

# Terms of Reference for the Regional Transport Committee

# 1. Purpose

To outline the Terms of Reference of the Regional Transport Committee.

# 2. Significance of the decision

The matters for decision in this report do not trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

# 3. Background

The Land Transport Management Act 2003 (the Act) was recently amended by the Land Transport Management Amendment Act 2008, resulting in the need to establish a Regional Transport Committee, as well as dissolving the existing Regional Land Transport Committee. At its meeting on 29 September 2008, the Council resolved to establish the Regional Transport Committee, and appointed to this committee representatives of the region's territorial authorities, the New Zealand Transport Agency and the objective and interest members required by the Act.

#### 4. Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference for Greater Wellington's Regional Transport Committee, as adopted by Council, are provided in Attachment 1 to this report. Outlined below are key provisions of the Terms of Reference.

WGN\_DOCS-#537836-V1 PAGE 1 OF 4

## 4.1 Voting rights

#### 4.1.1 Chair

The Act provides that the Chair has a deliberative vote and in the case of an equality of votes, does not have a casting vote (and therefore the act or question is defeated and the status quo is preserved).

#### 4.1.2 Local authority and New Zealand Transport Agency representatives

The local authority and New Zealand Transport Agency representatives have full voting and speaking entitlements.

## 4.1.3 Objective and cultural interest representatives

The objective and cultural interest representatives on the committee have full speaking rights, but no voting entitlement on matters relating to regional land transport programmes.

#### 4.2 Alternate members

The New Zealand Transport Agency and each territorial authority is entitled to nominate an alternate member who may attend and vote at meetings of the committee, but only in the event that the appointed member is unable to attend.

### 4.3 Specific Responsibilities

The specific responsibilities of the Regional Transport Committee are as follows:

- 1. Prepare for approval by the Council a Regional Land Transport Strategy, any variations to it and any reports on it.
- 2. Prepare for approval by the Council the Wellington Regional Land Transport Programme and any variations to it.
- 3. If such a scheme is considered by the committee to be appropriate, to prepare for approval by the Council a regional fuel tax scheme and any variation or reviews of it.
- 4. Provide the Council with any advice and assistance it may request in relation to its transport responsibilities.
- 5. Adopt a policy that determines significance in respect of variations made to the regional land transport programme and the Regional Land Transport Strategy.
- 6. Carry out consultation in accordance with the requirements set out in the Act.
- 7. Monitor the implementation of the Regional Land Transport Strategy.

WGN\_DOCS-#537836-V1 PAGE 2 OF4

- 8. Prepare, review and monitor plans to implement the Regional Land Transport Strategy, except the Regional Passenger Transport Plan.
- 9. Promote the implementation of the Regional Transport Strategy and provide general advocacy for the promotion of significant transport issues in the region.

# 5. Appointees

The membership of the Regional Transport Committee is as follows:

Objective/Organisation	Appointee	Alternate
Greater Wellington	Cr Fran Wilde	(Chair)
Greater Wellington	Cr Peter Glensor	(Deputy Chair)
Kapiti Coast District Council	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Lyndy McIntyre
Porirua City Council	Mayor Jenny Brash	Cr Tim Sheppard
Wellington City Council	Mayor Kerry Prendergast	Cr Andy Foster
Hutt City Council	Mayor David Ogden	Cr Joy Baird
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
South Wairarapa District Council	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Viv Napier
Carterton District Council	Mayor Gary McPhee	Cr Barbara Durbin
Masterton District Council	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr Roddy McKenzie
New Zealand Transport Agency	Deborah Hume	Yet to be appointed
Environmental Sustainability	Mike Mellor	Not applicable
Economic Development	Charles Finny	Not applicable
Safety and Personal Security	Michael Gross	Not applicable
Public Health	Dr Stephen Palmer	Not applicable
Access & Mobility	Thomas Bryan	Not applicable
Cultural Interests	Jack Rikihana	Not applicable

WGN\_DOCS-#537836-V1 PAGE 3 OF4

## 6. Communication

There are no matters in this report requiring further communication.

## 7. Recommendations

That the committee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. **Notes** the content of the report.

Report prepared by: Report approved by: Report approved by:

Tim Henwood Francis Ryan Jane Davis

Policy Analyst Manager Divisional Manager

Secretariat Transport Policy and Strategy

Attachment 1: Terms of Reference for the Regional Transport Committee

WGN\_DOCS-#537836-V1 PAGE 4 0F4