

Deleted: DRAFT

Please note that these minutes remain unconfirmed until the meeting of Council on 25 February 2008.

Report 07.827

<u>5 December</u> 2007 File: E/6/1/4

vndata\mins\council\07-827n

Deleted: 818

Deleted: 29 November

Deleted: 818pwdoc

Formatted: Font: 6 pt

Minutes of the Extraordinary Meeting of the Wellington Regional Council held in the Wellington Regional Council Chamber, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Wednesday, 5 December 2007 at 12.45 pm

Present

Councillors Wilde (Chair), Baber, Buchanan, Burke, Donaldson, Glensor, Greig, Kirton, Lamason, and Wilson.

Officers Present

Benham, Corry, Reay, Ryan, and Sangster.

Procedural Items

041 Apologies

Resolved

(Cr Burke/Cr Lamason)

Formatted Table

Formatted: Tabs: 14.67 cm, Right + Not at 15.17 cm

That Council:

Confirms the apologies from Councillors Aitken, Bruce, and Laidlaw.

042 Conflict of Interest declarations

There were no declarations of conflict of interest.

043 **Public participation**

No members of the public wished to participate in the meeting.

Matters for Decision

044 Establishment of Restricted Coastal Activity Committee

Report 07.823 File: E/06/02/06

Resolved (Cr Wilson/Cr Greig)

That Council:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Resolves to establish the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee to exercise any of the powers and duties referred to in section 117(6) of the Resource Management Act 1991, including the specific powers set out in attachment 2.
- 4. Delegates to the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee the powers and duties referred to in section 117(6) of the Resource Management Act 1991, including the specific powers set out in attachment 2 when considering those applications for coastal and discharge permits to provide for the ongoing operation of the Moa Point Wastewater Treatment Plant which are restricted coastal activities in The Regional Coastal Plan for the Wellington Region.
- 5. Delegates to the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee the power to hear and determine those applications for coastal and discharge permits to provide for the ongoing operation of the Moa Point Wastewater Treatment Plant which are not restricted coastal activities in The Regional Coastal Plan for the Wellington Region, including the specific powers set out in attachment 2.
- 6. Appoints Cr Barbara Donaldson, Chris Turver, and Elizabeth Burge as members of that Committee, and appoints Mr Turver as Chairman.
- 7. Notes and confirms the appointment of Richard Heerdegen as a member of that Committee, as the Minister of Conservation's appointee.
- 8. Adopts the terms of reference as set out in attachment 1 to this report.

Moved as an amendment (Cr Baber/Cr Greig)

The following to be added to 2. Meeting procedures, of the terms of reference:

All members have equal speaking rights, and a deliberative vote. The Chairperson shall have a casting vote if it is required.

Both the substantive motion and amendment were passed unanimously.

Formatted: Tabs: 15.11 cm,

Right

Formatted: Font: Not Bold

Formatted: Justified

Formatted: Font: Not Bold

O45 Appointment of Members to Hutt River Advisory Subcommittee

Resolved (Cr Burke/Cr Wilson) That the Council tables Report 07.826: Appointment of Members to Hutt River Formatted: Font: Not Bold Advisory Subcommittee. Report 07.826 File: E/06/01/02-Deleted: Resolved (Cr Buchanan/Cr Greig) That the Council: Formatted: Font: Not Bold _____ 1. Receives the report. Formatted: Font: Not Bold Notes the content of the report. 3. Appoints Hutt City Council Mayor David Ogden, and Councillors Joy Baird, -- Formatted: Font: Not Bold Margaret Cousins and Deborah Hislop as members of the Hutt River Advisory Subcommittee. Formatted Table Appoints Upper Hutt City Council Councillors Katy Austin, John Gwilliam, and 4. Dean Rabbit, and the fourth councillor to be determined at the meeting of the

Upper Hutt City Council on 12 December 2007, as members of the Hutt River

The meeting closed at 12.56 pm.

Advisory Subcommittee.

Cr FH WILDE (Chair)

Date