Draft Terms of Reference for the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee

December 2007

Contents

1.	Membership	. 3
	Meeting procedures	
	Powers	
	Responsibilities	
	Duration of Committee	

1. Membership

The membership of the Restricted Coastal Activity Committee shall be made up of four members:

- Chris Turver (Chair)
- Cr Barbara Donaldson
- Elizabeth Burge
- Richard Heerdegen.

The quorum is four members.

2. Meeting procedures

All members have equal speaking and voting rights (one per member).

Hearings will be open to the public, except where there are grounds to exclude the public in terms of the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987.

3. Powers

The Committee has the power to:

- Exercise any of the powers and duties referred to in section 117(6) of the Resource Management Act 1991, including making a recommendation to the Minister of Conservation on those applications that are restricted coastal activities in The Regional Coastal Plan for the Wellington Region.
- Hear and determine those applications for coastal and discharge permits to provide for the ongoing operation of the Moa Point Wastewater Treatment Plant which are not restricted coastal activities in The Regional Coastal Plan for the Wellington Region including the specific powers set out in attachment 2 to report 07.823.

4. Responsibilities

The Committee shall ensure that:

The hearing and consideration process is carried out in a way that is effective and timely.

Submitters are provided with the best possible opportunity to be heard in support of their submission.

The decision-making process is robust and transparent and the summary of the consultation process adequately, fairly and demonstrably reflects the submitters' comments.

5. Duration of Committee

The Committee is deemed to be dissolved after both its recommendation to the Minister of Conservation on the restricted coastal activities and its decision on the other matters have been released.