

Report	07.647
Date	19 September 2007
File	E/06/11/06

CommitteePolicy, Finance and Strategy CommitteeAuthorMargaret Meek Policy Analyst

Proposed Reappointment of Objective and Interest Representatives on the Regional Land Transport Committee

1. Purpose

To seek the Committee's endorsement that the current objective and interest representatives appointed to the Regional Land Transport Committee be recommended to the incoming Council for reappointment.

2. Significance of the decision

The matters for decision in this report do not trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

3. Background

Under section 178 of the Land Transport Act 1998 (the Act), the Council is required to have a Regional Land Transport Committee (RLTC). The RLTC must consist of suitable persons appointed by the Council to represent:

- the objectives of economic development, safety and personal security, public health, access and mobility, and environmental sustainability
- cultural interests
- the council
- other territorial authorities in the region
- Land Transport New Zealand.

In addition, a RLTC is required to take into account the views of land transport network providers.

3.1 Members representing objectives and interests

Currently the objectives and interests set out in section 178 of the Act are represented by the following people:

Objective/Interest	Appointee	Alternate
Economic Development	Charles Finny	Jeremy Harding
Safety and Personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
Security		
Public Health	Dr Stephen Palmer	
Access and mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Mike Mellor	Paula Warren
Sustainability		
Cultural interests	Tom Paku	Jack Rikihana

At the beginning of the current triennium Greater Wellington advertised for nominations to represent the objectives required in the Act. Ara Tahi was approached to nominate an appointee and alternate to represent cultural interests on the RLTC.

3.2 Status of the RLTC membership following the election

The appointees' membership to the RLTC will cease when the committee ceases (i.e. the day after the date of the declaration of the election result by the Electoral Officer).

4. Comment

4.1 Potential amendment to the RLTC structure

As a result of the recent "Next Steps" review of the land transport sector, the Government is expected to shortly introduce a Bill to Parliament which may, among other things, impact on the structure of the RLTC.

It is considered that the knowledge of the existing objective and interest appointed members should be retained during, what is likely to be, a short transitional period to the new arrangements. It is also not considered appropriate to seek nominations to fill the roles at this time as it is likely that the structure of the RLTC will change and the Council may be required to seek new nominations early in the 2007-2010 triennium.

In light of the fact that there are likely to be legislative amendments affecting the structure of the RLTC in 2008, officers consider that having the current appointees, as outlined at 3.1 of this report, appointed to the new RLTC established after the 2007 triennial elections, is the most prudent course of action.

5. Communication

No external communication is required as a result of this report. Ultimately, the findings will be reported to the incoming Council for consideration.

6. Recommendations

That the Committee recommends that Council:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. Agrees to recommend to the incoming Council that it reappoint the following people to be members of the Regional Land Transport Committee:

Objective/Interest	Appointee	Alternate
Economic Development	Charles Finny	Jeremy Harding
Safety and Personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
Security		
Public Health	Dr Stephen Palmer	
Access and mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Mike Mellor	Paula Warren
Sustainability		
Cultural interests	Tom Paku	Jack Rikihana

4. Agrees to recommend to the incoming Council that the members are reappointed for a term ending when amendments to legislation affecting the structure of the Regional Land Transport Committee come into force, but in any case no later than 1 July 2008.

Report prepared by:

Report approved by:

Report approved by:

Margaret Meek Policy Analyst Francis Ryan Manager, Secretariat Jane Davis Division Manager, Transport Policy & Strategy