

Report 07.725

Date 22 November 2007

File E/06/11/06

Committee Council

Author Margaret Meek Policy Analyst

# **Appointment of Representatives on the Regional Land Transport Committee**

## 1. Purpose

To enable the Council to make the external appointments to the Regional Land Transport Committee required by the Land Transport Act 1998.

## 2. Significance of the decision

The matters for decision in this report do not trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

# 3. Background

Under section 178 of the Land Transport Act 1998 the Council is required to have a Regional Land Transport Committee (RLTC). The RLTC must consist of suitable persons appointed by the Council to represent:

- the objectives of economic development, safety and personal security, public health, access and mobility, and environmental sustainability
- cultural interests
- the Council
- other territorial authorities in the region
- Land Transport New Zealand.

In addition, a RLTC is required to take into account the views of land transport network providers. The Terms of Reference for the RLTC state that the Council will appoint one person to represent each of the following national network providers with speaking but not voting rights:

- Transit New Zealand
- Ontrack.

WGN\_DOCS-#471947-V1 PAGE 1 OF 4

The Land Transport Amendment Bill (Bill) has been introduced to Parliament. This Bill was introduced on 18 October 2007. The Bill, among other things, amends voting rights of RLTC members and extends the functions of the RLTC to include the preparation of a regional land transport programme and the development of a regional fuel tax scheme if one is desired by the region. While some clarity is required on the appointment of non-local government members, it appears that the membership will be similar. The Minister may, under the Bill, provide guidance to regional councils on the selection of the non-local government members.

#### 3.1 Objective and Interest Representatives

On 27 September 2007, the outgoing Council resolved to recommend to the incoming Council that it reappoint the existing objective and interest representatives on the RLTC. The outgoing Council recommended that these representatives be reappointed for a term ending when amendments to legislation affecting the structure of the RLTC come into force, but in any case no later than 1 July 2008. A copy of the report is attached (attachment 1).

#### 3.2 The Council

At its meeting on 13 November 2007, the Council appointed Councillors Bruce, Donaldson, Glensor, Wilde and Wilson to represent it on the RLTC. Councillor Wilde was appointed Chair and Councillor Glensor was appointed Deputy Chair of the RLTC.

## 3.3 Territorial Authorities in the Wellington Region

On 27 September 2007, Greater Wellington wrote to the eight territorial authorities in the region and asked them to nominate a representative and alternate to represent each of them on the RLTC. Nominations received from the territorial authorities are provided in the table below.

#### 3.4 Land Transport New Zealand, Transit New Zealand and Ontrack

On 27 September 2007, Greater Wellington wrote to Land Transport New Zealand, Transit New Zealand and Ontrack and asked them to nominate a representative and alternate to represent each of them on the RLTC. Nominations received from these organisations are provided in the table below.

# 4. Proposed Representatives

The proposed representatives on the RLTC and their alternates are:

Objective/Organisation	Appointee	Alternate
Economic Development	Charles Finny	Jeremy Harding
Safety and Personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
Security		
Public Health	Dr Stephen Palmer	
Access and Mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Mike Mellor	Paula Warren
Sustainability		

WGN\_DOCS-#471947-V1 PAGE 2 OF 4

Cultural Interests	Tom Paku	Jack Rikihana
Kapiti Coast District	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Lyndy McIntyre
Council		
Porirua City Council	Mayor Jenny Brash	Cr Tim Sheppard
Wellington City Council	Mayor Kerry	Cr Andy Foster
	Prendergast	
Hutt City Council	Mayor David Ogden	Cr Joy Baird
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
South Wairarapa District	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Viv Napier
Council		
Carterton District	Mayor Gary McPhee	Cr Barbara Durbin
Council		
Masterton District	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr Roddy McKenzie
Council		
Land Transport New	Ian Hunter	
Zealand		
Transit New Zealand	Graham Taylor	David Silvester
Ontrack	Mark Gullery	David Gordon

### 5. Communication

All nominees and organisations involved will be contacted and advised of the Council's decision.

#### 6. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. Notes the content of the report.
- 3. Appoints the following persons as members of the Regional Land Transport Committee to represent the interests and organisations listed and agree that the alternates are able to attend meetings with the same rights as their appointed member when that appointed member is unable to attend:

Objective/Organisation	Appointee	Alternate
Economic Development	Charles Finny	Jeremy Harding
Safety and Personal	Howard Royds	John Christianson
Security		
Public Health	Dr Stephen Palmer	
Access and Mobility	John Anderson	Maurie Bognuda
Environmental	Mike Mellor	Paula Warren
Sustainability		
Cultural Interests	Tom Paku	Jack Rikihana
Kapiti Coast District	Mayor Jenny Rowan	Cr Lyndy McIntyre
Council		
Porirua City Council	Mayor Jenny Brash	Cr Tim Sheppard

WGN\_DOCS-#471947-V1 PAGE 3 OF 4

Wellington City Council	Mayor Kerry	Cr Andy Foster
	Prendergast	
Hutt City Council	Mayor David Ogden	Cr Joy Baird
Upper Hutt City Council	Mayor Wayne Guppy	Cr Peter McCardle
South Wairarapa District	Mayor Adrienne Staples	Cr Viv Napier
Council		
Carterton District	Mayor Gary McPhee	Cr Barbara Durbin
Council		
Masterton District	Mayor Garry Daniell	Cr Roddy McKenzie
Council		
Land Transport Safety	Ian Hunter	
Authority		
Transit New Zealand	Graham Taylor	David Silvester
Ontrack	Mark Gullery	David Gordon

4. **Appoints** the Interest and Objective members for a term ending when amendments to legislation affecting the structure of the Regional Land Transport Committee come into force, but in any case no later than 1 July 2008.

Report prepared by: Report approved by: Report approved by:

Margaret Meek Francis Ryan Jane Davis

Policy Analyst Manager, Secretariat Divisional Manager, Transport

Policy & Strategy

Attachment 1: Report 07.647

WGN\_DOCS-#471947-V1 PAGE 4 OF 4