

 Report
 07.718

 Date
 10 October 2007

 File
 E/06/26/03

Committee Council Author Tim Henwood

# Appointment of local government members of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee

#### 1. Purpose

To seek the Council's approval for the appointment of the six territorial authority members to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee.

## 2. Significance of the decision

The matters for decision in this report **do not** trigger the significance policy of the Council or otherwise trigger section 76(3)(b) of the Local Government Act 2002.

## 3. Comment

The Wellington Regional Strategy was developed by the region's local authorities in tandem with the business, education, research and voluntary sectors and Central Government.

The governance of the strategy is the responsibility of the Council's Wellington Regional Strategy Committee.

The Terms of Reference for the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee provide that the membership of the committee will be 12 persons appointed by the Council, comprising seven local government members and five non-local government members. The local government membership is made up of:

- a) One Regional Councillor.
- b) One member nominated to represent the interests of the Wairarapa. This person will be nominated jointly by the Masterton, Carterton and South Wairarapa District Councils.
- c) One member nominated by each of the remaining constituent territorial authorities within the Region.

The local government members may be replaced from time to time by the respective territorial authorities providing written notice to Greater Wellington Regional Council, confirming the amended nomination.

In addition, the Terms of Reference provide that each local government member may be represented by an alternate. Each of the councils is entitled to nominate an alternate member who may attend and vote at meetings of the committee, but only in the event that the nominated and appointed member is unable to do so.

The Regional Councillor appointed to the committee must have an alternate who may attend and vote at meetings of the committee in the event of the appointed Regional Councillor's absence.

#### 4. Nominations

Nominations received for the six local government member positions open to nomination by the region's territorial authorities have been received by Council and are listed below.

The appointed local government members of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee will meet on Friday 23 November to consider nominations for the non-local government members of the committee in accordance with its Terms of Reference. The nominations of the non-local government members will be considered by the Council at its meeting on 29 November 2007.

## 5. Communication

The local authorities and relevant agencies will be advised of the Council's appointments.

#### 6. Recommendations

That the Council:

- 1. **Receives** the report.
- 2. *Notes* the content of the report.
- 3. Appoints as members of the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee:
  - Mayor David Ogden (HCC),
  - Mayor Kerry Prendergast (WCC),
  - Mayor Jenny Brash (PCC),
  - Mayor Jenny Rowan (KCDC,
  - Mayor Wayne Guppy (UHCC) and
  - *Mayor Adrienne Staples (Wairarapa.)*

- 4. Appoints as alternates to the Wellington Regional Strategy Committee:
  - Councillor Roger Styles (HCC),
  - Councillor Ian McKinnon (WCC),
  - Councillor Ken Douglas (PCC),
  - Councillor David Scott (KCDC),
  - Councillor Peter McCardle (UHCC) and
  - Mayor Garry Daniell (Wairarapa).

Report prepared by:

Report Approved by

Report Approved by

Tim Henwood Policy Analyst Jane Davis Divisional Manager, Wellington Regional Strategy David Benham Chief Executive Officer