

Report 06.423

21 August 2006 File: E/06/09/39 m:wpdata\rep\rrs 06.214.doc

Minutes of the Meeting of the Representation Review Subcommittee held in the Council Chamber, Wellington Regional Council Centre, 142 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Monday, 21 August, 2006 at 9.35 am

Present

Councillors Shields (Chairperson), Glensor and Long,

Also Present

Councillors Buchanan Evans, and Turner

Officers Present

Norrish and Reay

Public Business

Procedural Items

RRS 04 **Apologies**

Resolved

That the subcommittee

Accepts the apology for absence from Councillor Baber.

Matters for Consideration

Tabled

Representation Review 2006, submissions 2006 (1-84). Greater Wellington. To the Representation Review Sub-committee of the GWRC. Michael Gibson Chairperson and Councillors, Greater Wellington Regional Council. Betty van Galen, Spokesperson for Local Body Affairs, Kapiti Coast Grey Power Association inc

RRS 05 Process for considering submissions on representation proposal

Report 06.403 File: E/01/04/05

Resolved (Cr Shields/Cr Long)

That the Representation Review Subcommittee:

- 1. Receives and notes each individual written submission Greater Wellington has received on making the Council proposed representation arrangements.
- 2. Hears submitters' oral presentations.
- 3. Agrees to the process for handling these submissions and making recommendations to Council as set out in section 4 of this report.

RRS 06 Summary of submissions on proposed representation arrangements

Report 06.401 File: E/01/04/05

Resolved (Cr Shields/Cr Glensor)

That the Representation Review Subcommittee:

- 1. Receives the report.
- 2. *Notes the content of the report.*

Public Participation

Members of the public who made oral presentations.

Speaker	Name	Submission number	Time
1	David Ogden, Mayor, Hutt City Council	20	9.56 am
2	Barry Houston	69	10.14
3	John Greally	44	10.57
4	Wayne Guppy, Mayor Upper Hutt City Council; Councillors Austin, Barnard, Harris, Phillips, Timms; and Max Pederson, CEO	53	11.10 am
5	Michael Gibson	13	11.33
6	Alick Shaw, Deputy Mayor, Wellington City Council	73	11.55 – 12.07 pm
7	David Butler, Wellington Local Labour Body Committee	82	1.13 pm
8	Jenny Brash, Mayor Porirua City Council; Keith Miller; and Johnathan Salter (Simpson Grierson)	61	1.25
9	Ron Wilkinson	27	
10	Peter Drake	58	2.02 – 2.11
11	Alan Milne, Mayor KCDC; and Mark Dacombe CEO	37	2.28
12	Ewan Kelsall, Federated Farmers of NZ Inc; and Catherine Petrie	33	2.58 – 3.12

The meeting was adjourned between 10.32 am and 10.56 am for morning tea, between 12.35 pm and 1.13 pm for lunch, and between 2.44 pm and 2.58 pm for afternoon tea

The meeting closed at 3:55 pm.

COUNCILLOR MK SHIELDS Chairperson

Date: