

caring about you & your environment

**Report 02.281** 24 May 2002 File: E/6/1/4 m:\wpdata\mins\council\02.281.doc

# Minutes of the Special Meeting of the Wellington Regional Council held in the Wellington Regional Council Chamber, The Regional Council Centre, 142-146 Wakefield Street, Wellington on Friday, 24 May, 2002 at 9.30am

### Present

Councillors Shields (Chairperson), Aitken, Barr, Buchanan, Evans, Kirton, Laidlaw, Long, McDavitt, Thomas, Turver, Werry and Yardley

#### **Officers Present**

Messrs Benham, Darroch, Kennedy, Maguire, Schollum, Stone, Wright and Drs Bradbury and Watson

## **Public Business**

### **Matters for Consideration**

#### 84 Apologies

There were no apologies.

#### 85 **Public Participation**

Resolved

(Chairperson/Cr McDavitt)

That the provision of SO64 limiting the period for public participation to 15 minutes be temporarily suspended to allow sufficient time for members of the public present who wish to speak.

The following made representations:

Mr Kelly, MP

Councillor Shaw, Porirua City Council Hon Dunne, MP Mayor Prendergast, Wellington City Council Mayor Terris, Hutt City Council Mayor Brash, Porirua City Council Mayor Francis, Masterton District Council Mayor Milne, Kapiti Coast District Council Mr Foot, Greens Councillor Dalziell, Ratepayer, Hutt City Councillor Chapman, Ratepayer, Kapiti Councillor Philips, Upper Hutt City Council

Councillor Christianson, Chairperson, Zone 4

Mr Davidson

Mr Devitt, Residents Coalition

Mr Bolster, Service and Food Workers Union

Mr Logan

Mr Butler, Economist

Mr Berry, Registered Engineer

Councillor Douglas, Statement read by Council Secretary

Mr Turner, Johnsonville Commuter, together with Mr Benson – statement read by Council Secretary

The meeting adjourned at 11.30am The meeting reconvened at 12.55pm

## 86 **Policy and Finance Committee 24 May**

**Report 02.275** 

File: E/6/3/2

Resolved

(Cr McDavitt/Turver)

That the recommendations of the Policy, Finance and Strategy Committee meeting held on 24 May 2002, be adopted.

Councillors Buchanan, Kirton and Thomas dissented.

The meeting closed at 1.01pm.

Cr M K SHIELDS Chairperson

Date