Skip to content

Electoral systems

Electoral systems

Updated 2 April 2014 8:56am


The way you vote depends on the electoral system used by the Council. The Local Electoral Act 2001 (LEA) allows councils to use one of two electoral systems for their elections: the Single Transferable Vote (STV) or the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral systems.

Single transferable vote (STV) – the Council’s current electoral system

Greater Wellington Regional Council currently operates its elections under the STV electoral system, which must also be used in the district health board elections. Under the STV electoral system electors rank the candidates they wish to vote for in order of preference. To be elected, a candidate must reach a “quota” of votes. The number of votes required for a candidate to be elected (called the quota) depends on the number of positions to be filled and the number of valid votes. 

First past the post (FPP) – an option for the Council

The other option permitted under the Local Electoral Act 2001 is the FPP system. Under the FPP electoral system electors vote by indicating their preferred candidate(s). Voters are able to cast up to as many votes as there are vacancies to be filled. If there are three vacancies, voters can tick three candidates on their voting paper. The candidates receiving the most votes are declared elected.